UPCOMING EVENTS

    View full calendar

    Extension Sustainability Summit 2016

    View the Extension Sustainability Summit 2016 schedule & directory.

    NOTE: We used sched.org for the agenda. Once you click the link to view the schedule and directory, you may click on any presentation title to read the description and view/download the presentation.

    Read the ESS 2016 Impact Evaluations and Lightning Sessions Summaries.

    ess2016-logoThe 2016 Extension Sustainability Summit was held April 5-7, 2016, in Portland, Oregon, at the Embassy Suites Downtown. Check out pictures and tweets from the Summit from our Twitter feed at #ESSPORTLAND


    About

    The two-day Summit addressed sustainability and Extension's outreach role on this topic. ESS2016 provided an avenue to transition the ongoing conversations around sustainability outreach into an action plan. Attendees heard from and engaged in conversations with speakers on topics ranging from sustainability youth eduction to energy independent communities.

    The Summit's sessions were organized around five themes of sustainability:

    1. Climate/Air
    2. Food
    3. Energy
    4. Land
    5. Water

    Held for the first time in 2013, this popular event provided optional pre-Summit field trips, two days packed full of interactive presentations, opportunities for networking, and field trips to local sustainable businesses.

    Planning Committee

    Roslynn Brain, Chair
    Utah State University Extension
    roslynn.brain@usu.edu

    Mark Apel, Land Session Chair
    University of Arizona Extension
    mapel@cals.arizona.edu

    Gregg Garfin, Climate/Air Session Chair
    University of Arizona Extension
    gmgarfin@email.arizona.edu

    Cary Weiner, Energy Session Chair
    Colorado State University Extension
    cary.weiner@colostate.edu

    Larry Lev, Food Session Chair
    Oregon State University Extension
    larry.lev@oregonstate.edu

    Bob Simmons, Water Session Chair
    Washington State University Extension
    simmons@wsu.edu

     

    Sponsors

    We are grateful to the Summit's Sponsors for their contributions and support.

    • Oregon State University Extension Service
    • Western Rural Development Center
    • USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture
    • Utah State University Extension Sustainability